Academy Awards & Rap Music

The academy awards are known as the Super Bowl of movie award season it is looked at as the classiest event of all the award shows. For many years during the 80’s and 90’s Hollywoods upper crust did not mix with hip hop or rap artist, some how they thought that rappers were beneath them in fact the only music that was acceptable by the oscars was big band music scorers more on a classical type genre. we now live in a different era Hollywood has embraced the hip hop world and the hip hop world has finally been accepted in Hollywood so the question is, does hip hop /rap belong at the oscars? In one of my earlier post I made the statement that rap music did not belong at the oscars but up on further examinations I was wrong, now the question is which of the hip hop artist deserves to be at the Oscars? I view the oscars the same way I view the Grammys only the best of the best should be allowed on these stages. In other words no half stepping at these shows. Yes rap music should be allowed at the academy’s but at its proper place, what is that place? We now live and what I call a hip hop society it is accepted by blacks, Caucasians, Latinos and all ethnic groups of people and if you watch any movie this day and time you will here hip hop songs played in various parts of the film. Which hip hop artist do I think is capable of composing a music score? The list is very short, there are only about ten or so artist that I believe that can handle this task.

1. Common
2. Mos def
3. Nas
4. Kayne West
5. Kendrick Lamar
6. Tupac R.I.P.
7. Jay Z
8. Dr. Dre
9. 50 cent
10. Talib kweli

Please understand that this list is debatable but still these are the artis that I believe have the ability to do a big market film justice on the big screen. I absolutely dig every single thing about award season, I love it from the red carpet, to the show it self, even the fashion rap shows after everything is over, so I pay attention to details so if rappers get involved in this which I think they should, they better bring it like they never brought it before. Will it ever happen though?

Leave a Reply

