The N Word

Pop Culture has made every race in America believe that the word nigga is just another slang word and that it is okay for everyone no matter if you’re black, Caucasian, Latino or any other ethnic group of people to use this word. This debate over the N word has resurfaced because of the Trayvon Martin murder trial and the celebrity cook Paul Deen but I feel that it is a very necessary discussion because we as a society had got too comfortable with the whole nigga vs. nigger word. This word is never okay and I don’t care who uses it or who doesn’t uses it hell, I’m guilty of using the word myself and I am a black man but that does not give me the right to use the word so loosely especially since I know the historical meaning of this racist word. Is this the ugliest word in the English vocabulary? I don’t know. But I do know that this word when used by the wrong group of people can start some serious shit, Jay z once told Oprah that the hip hop culture has taken away the negative power that the N word use to have back in the 20th century, I don’t know if I agree with that. Let a group of Caucasian men call a group of black men a nigger and all hell will break loose. We have got to do so much better as a society and stop letting pop culture dictate to us what is acceptable and what is not acceptable, god gave us a brain we need to use it better. It is not a sin to think people, lets treat each other better for our own sake.

Leave a Reply

